skip to Main Content

How to Share Your Content With Collaborators Via Dropbox

How To Share Your Content With Collaborators Via Dropbox

There are times when your designer or collaborating colleague will need to receive content from you, such as photos or documents for the development of the content on your website or social media postings.  Don’t you just hate having to send emails over and over with a bunch of attachments?  Well there is a very easy and quick solution, even for the not so computer savvy.

The first big step is to of course create a free Dropbox account here. Go to Dropbox.com and login to your account. You can share folders and files in your Dropbox account with anyone (even if they don’t have a Dropbox account).

You can control whether people can edit, comment, or only view your files and folders, when you share them, and after you share them. Edits or comments that are made to a file or folder are updated live for everyone who they’ve been shared with.

How to share a file or folder

To share a file or folder with the Dropbox website:

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Click Files in the left column.
  3. Hover over the file or folder you’d like to share.
  4. Click Share.
  5. Type the Email, name, or group of the person (or people) you’d like to share with.
  6. Click Share. They’ll receive an email with a link to the file or folder.

Set permissions for people with access to a folder

  1. Sign in to dropbox.com.
  2. Scroll to the folder you’d like to set permissions for and click Share.
  3. Scroll to the email address of the member you’d like to change permissions for.
  4. Select Can edit or Can view from the drop-down menu beside their name.

You can find tons of other tips on how to use Dropbox here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *